Gluten Free Alcohol and a Good Diet

A good diet consists mostly of whole foods that are not in packages. In fact, this is one of the best diets you can eat. Fruits, vegetables, whole grains, fresh and organic lean meats, and low-sugar desserts are all easy to find and easy to prepare. As a general rule, if this is all you eat, your body will be healthy and vital for many years to come.

What if you are still having problems with digestion even though you eat all of these healthy foods? You are, after all, getting plenty of fiber from those whole grains aren’t you? That means good digestion, does it not? Well, the answer is “no.” In fact, it is probably the grains that are causing the problem in the first place.

Most of the grains people eat commonly contain a protein called gluten. This is found in barley, wheat, spelt, and rye, the grains folks love to eat the most. If you grew up eating these, you will probably never want to stop. When you are having digestive pains, gas, diarrhea, constipation and bloating after eating any of these grains, you probably have a gluten intolerance.

You will also find that many alcoholic beverages are made from these grains and they will also disrupt your digestion and cause the same problems as the grains in the foods. It is not so easy to find gluten free alcohol, is it?

Actually, it is easy. You can first obtain a list of these beverages. To make it easier, learn about how the various alcohol drinks are made. You will find that it is mostly brown liquor and beer that have the gluten, even if it is in small amounts. Wines and even Sake don’t usually have wheat. Read the labels to be sure and you won’t get into any problems.

Stay away from beer. It has gluten unless otherwise labeled. As with all things in the diet, moderation is the best plan. Alcohol in any form is not really good for the body. On the other hand, moderate use of beverages with alcohol and no gluten should be fine.